

Government of the District of Columbia ADVISORY NEIGHBORHOOD COMMISSION 3/4G

Chevy Chase, Barnaby Woods, Hawthorne 5601 Connecticut Avenue N.W. P.O. Box 6252 Washington, D.C. 20015

3G@anc.dc.gov | http://www.anc3g.org | YouTube: ANC3G | Office: 202.363.5803

COMMISSIONERS

3/4G-01 - Lisa R. Gore, Chair3/4G-02 - Bruce Sherman3/4G-03 - James Nash, Secretary3/4G-04 - Michael Zeldin3/4G-05 - Peter Lynch3/4G-06 - Peter Gosselin, Vice Chair3/4G-07 - Zachary Ferguson, Treasurer

ANC 3/4G Resolution on Capital Bikeshare Stations

BACKGROUND & RATIONALE

1) ANC 3/4G represents a diverse neighborhood of residents that rely upon many modes of transportation, including cars, buses, bicycles, paratransit, trains, and walking.

2) Capital Bikeshare has become an integral part of the public transportation system of Washington DC and witnessed a record of over 461,000 rides in the month of July 2023.¹

3) ANC 3/4G, with roughly 14,000 residents, currently only has two Capital Bikeshare stations within its borders. They are located at Broad Branch Road & Northampton Street NW and Connecticut Avenue & McKinley Street NW.²

4) Six of the seven single-member districts in ANC 3/4G have no Capital Bikeshare stations within their boundaries.

4) Capital Bikeshare promotes transportation equity by offering an unlimited pass for

¹ <u>https://twitter.com/bikeshare/status/1686434927967948816</u>

² <u>https://capitalbikeshare.com/#homepage_map</u>

just \$9 per month and only \$5 per year for residents qualifying based on income.³

RESOLVED

- 1) ANC 3/4G supports the DC Department of Transportation (DDOT) pursuing the installation of a Capital Bikeshare stations at the following areas:
 - a. Broad Branch & 33rd Street NW
 - b. Pinehurst Circle NW
 - c. Nebraska Avenue & Oregon Street NW
 - d. Nebraska Avenue & Utah Avenue NW
 - e. Connecticut Avenue NW between Jenifer Street and Military Road NW

2) This resolution is not intended to limit or replace residents' ability to directly request Capital Bikeshare stations via <u>https://cabistationrequest.dc.gov/</u>.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED:

That the Commission designates Commissioner Lisa Gore, Commissioner Bruce Sherman, Commissioner Zach Ferguson, and Commissioner Jim Nash to represent the Commission in all matters relating to this Resolution.

APPROVED at a regular public meeting, notice of which was properly given and at which a quorum of four (4) or seven (7) members was present on September 11, 2023, by a vote of X yes, X no, X abstentions.

³ <u>https://capitalbikeshare.com/pricing/for-all</u>

Lisa R Gore, Chair

James L Nash, Secretary