

## Government of the District of Columbia ADVISORY NEIGHBORHOOD COMMISSION 3/4G

Chevy Chase, Barnaby Woods, Hawthorne 5601 Connecticut Avenue N.W. P.O. Box 6252 Washington, D.C. 20015 3G@anc.dc.gov | http://www.anc3g.org | YouTube: ANC3G

## **COMMISSIONERS**

3/4G-01 - Lisa R. Gore, Chair 3/4G-02 - Bruce Sherman, Secretary, 3/4G-03 - James Nash, 3/4G-04 - Michael Zeldin 3/4G-05 - Peter Lynch 3/4G-06 - Peter Gosselin, Vice Chair 3/4G-07 - Zachary Ferguson, Treasurer

## Regular ANC 3/4G Meeting February 12, 2024 Summary Outline

Recording (minute marker links noted below) at:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l1NzxiOHFXg&t=50s.

00:00:20: Welcome

<u>00:00:50</u>: Commissioner introductions (Commissioners Ferguson, Gore, Gosselin, Lynch, Nash, Sherman in person; Commissioner Zeldin online)

00:02:00: Meeting procedures

<u>00:03:08</u>: Agenda changes: Peyton Manning moved to 2/26; Tim Walsh from The Avenue unavailable to brief on American City Diner site.

00:03:56: Adoption of agenda

00:04:09: Approval of consent agenda by vote, 7-0.

<u>00:04:33</u>: Resident open forum: Commissioner testimony before the DC Council – who, when, how to access? ANC special meeting on the Civic Core RFP: still planned?

00:09:04: BZA special exemption presentation for 5207 38th St.; approved by vote, 7-0.

<u>00:19:08</u>: Chevy Chase historic district designation: presentations by <u>Chevy Chase DC Conservancy</u>: Mary Rowse, Dr. Stephanie Jacobe, Bill Gordon; and <u>Living Chevy Chase</u>: Winston Sale, Greg Schmidt, Katherine Kerley.

01:23:47: Resident comments on historic district designation: scale of historic vs newer homes, prior nomination vs current, home improvement costs, infringement of homeowner autonomy, Chevy Chase's inherent architectural eclecticism, teardowns and McMansions, impacts on housing affordability, implications of Chevy Chase's racist past, generational (age) differences, etc.

02:18:46: Next steps by the Commissioner in reviewing the historic district nomination

<u>02:26:49</u>: Chair's suspension of remaining agenda except treasurer's report

<u>02:27:22</u>: Treasurer's report <u>02:28:15</u>: End of meeting

Peter Gosselin, Vice Chair

Bruce Sherman, Secretary